Saturday, May 16, 2009

Obama Designates Gregory Jaczko Chairman of NRC

President Obama designated Gregory Jaczko, left, to be the new Chairman of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) on May 13. He was first sworn in as a Commissioner on Jan. 21, 2005, and his term runs through June 2013. As Chairman, Dr. Jaczko is the principal executive officer of the NRC and its official spokesperson.

Dr. Jaczko replaces Dr. Dale E. Klein, right, as chairman. Dr. Klein was sworn into the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission July 2006. He was appointed Chairman by President George W. Bush and served in that role from July 1, 2006, to May 13, 2009. He is currently serving as a Commissioner.

Immediately prior to assuming the post of Commissioner, Dr. Jaczko served as appropriations director for U.S. Sen. Harry Reid and also served as the Senator's science policy advisor. He began his Washington, D.C., career as a congressional science fellow in the office of U.S. Rep. Edward Markey. In addition, he has been an adjunct professor at Georgetown University teaching science and policy. Born in Pennsylvania and raised in upstate New York, Dr. Jaczko earned a bachelor's degree in physics and philosophy from Cornell University, and a doctorate in physics from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Dr. Jaczko is married and resides in Washington, D.C.

No comments: