Thursday, July 18, 2013

Senate Confirms Gina McCarthy as EPA Administrator

The Senate voted 59-40 on Thursday to confirm the controversial nomination of Gina McCarthy to lead the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).  GOP Sens. Lamar Alexander (Tenn.), Susan Collins (Maine), Bob Corker (Tenn.), Jeff Flake (Ariz.), Kelly Ayotte (N.H.) and John McCain (Ariz.) voted for McCarthy's confirmation, while Sen. Joe Manchin (D-W.Va.) joined most Republicans in voting against her nomination.  The Senate voted 69-31 to end debate on her nomination. (The Hill, 7/18/2013)

Gina McCarthy with Carol Browner and Bob Perciasepe

No comments: