Thursday, March 05, 2015

Senate Fails To Override President Obama's Veto of Keystone XL Pipeline

The Senate failed on Wednesday to override President Obama’s veto of legislation approving the Keystone XL oil sands pipeline, falling five votes short of the two-thirds majority needed in a 62-37 vote.
It’s the first time Congress has voted on whether to override a veto from Obama and could be a sign of things to come, with Republicans in charge of the House and Senate.

Eight Democrats voted with Republicans to override Obama: Sens. Joe Manchin (W.Va.), Heidi Heitkamp (N.D.), Mark Warner (Va.), Claire McCaskill (Mo.), Bob Casey Jr. (Pa.), Michael Bennet (Colo.), Tom Carper (Del.) and Jon Tester (Mont.).
Sen. Joe Donnelly (D-Ind.), who backs the pipeline, missed the vote.  
The eight Democrats also voted to approve the $8 billion oil sands project in January. Sixty-seven votes are needed to override a presidential veto.

Keystone proponents vowed to continue the fight for the pipeline despite the failure.
Obama’s rejection of the Keystone bill came within hours of Republicans sending it to the White House. It was the third veto of his presidency but his first major veto.
It’s also the first time Obama has vetoed legislation sent to his desk by the new Republican majorities in both chambers.  (The Hill, 3/4/2015)

No comments: